Losing my mind

I know right where I had it.

In the front seat of the Jeep.  I went to the library, took my library card out of my wallet, and Josh and I went to get books a week or two ago.
Now I have no idea where my wallet, containing my driver’s license, is.

I decided, about a year ago, to go back to school for my RN.  Because I am already a paramedic, I can bridge from paramedic-to-RN in this state by challenging classes and taking exams.  My first exam was scheduled for tomorrow, but I can’t take it without proper photo ID–meaning, my driver’s license.

I scoured the house and the vehicles for my wallet the last week, and finally today rescheduled the exam for three weeks from now.  Hopefully by then the wallet will have either resurfaced, or a new one will have arrived.  

 

And then I bought a Kindle.  I bought the least expensive one, because I have hundreds of books on my Nook HD+, but there were a lot of books that were only available on Kindle or that were free for Kindle and not for Nook.  So I bought one, loaded it with free and .99 cent books that I’d been dying to read, and….
It’s gone.

I remember picking it up in the living room and setting it on the piano.  That’s the last time I saw it, and my two-and-a-half-year old claims to have absolutely no idea where it is.  So instead of going to the library and shopping today, we cleaned the house.  Everything downstairs is picked up, put away, dusted, mopped and vacuumed. 
I’m telling you, this house is clean tonight–but my wallet and Kindle are still missing.

The bottom line, of course, is that there really isn’t a goblin stealing my things.  It’s just a tired Mom who is juggling a full time job, full time school, a two-year-old, and a nine-month-old.  Sometimes my mind is going to get tired and I’m going to misplace things.  Sometimes we’re going to need to cancel the plans for the day to get the house back into shape, and sometimes I’m going to have to give in and nap.  My kids are going to lose things, I’m going to lose things, and that’s okay.  We’ll find them eventually. 

Until then, though, I am going to sit on my couch and enjoy the fact that, for tonight, I can at least see the living room carpet, even if it’s because I’m losing my mind.

Leave a Reply

