Having a life

I had a life once.
I just want to be clear about that.

In this former life, I wore things that weren’t maternity jeans with peanut butter and jelly smeared on them.  I went to movies and dinner with friends. I ate ice cream for dessert without worrying about it.  I stayed up late watching movies.  I slept in if I wasn’t working.  If I wanted to go somewhere, I put a jacket on and went.  I didn’t think about diaper bags, extra clothes, sippy cups, finding a coat for the toddler, finding the keys the toddler had stuck under the couch cushions, finding the shoes the toddler had thrown in the toilet, getting into the car(finally), only to have the toddler yell, “Mommy! Poopy!” and then have to unbuckle toddler, take toddler back inside, change stinky diaper, re-dress toddler, and go back to the car and leave, an hour after I started in the first place.

It was a good life.  One I really liked.

I have no complaints or regrets.

Except that life didn’t have this…

So, really, it wasn’t that much of a life, after all.

2 thoughts on “Having a life

  1. Look at it as an investment, Sara. What you put into them will come back to you 100-fold! Glad to see you using your gift. I’m sure it will encourage others in your shoes. Enjoy those pb smudges. They have an expiration date that’s up before you know it! : }

  2. 30 years ago I was right where you are now. Enjoy this time while you have it cause it will change you forever..My baby will be 30 this month but I can still remember when he was like Josh, blonde hair and all.

Leave a Reply

